The Upcyclist
The Upcyclist
Welcome to The Upcyclist! ♻️
2
0:00
-10:41

Welcome to The Upcyclist! ♻️

Intro + an interview with Kelsey Reese, owner & designer at ReeseCycled.
2

Hello hello, and welcome to the kickoff of The Upcyclist, a weekly newsletter written to celebrate the people who turn stuff… into different stuff. Thank you for being here.

I’m your host, Sasha Weilbaker. If you don’t know me, here’s my intro: I’m a writer, I love bikes, I love cats, & I love coffee. Here’s my face:

For a while, I’ve been fascinated by materials of all varieties— what can we do with them? How can we connect people with excess material to those who need it?

Each week I’ll be interviewing crafty folks from hobbyists to business owners about their upcycling journey, the goal being to inspire us all to (maybe!) think a little differently about the materials we use in our everyday lives, and what we can do with them.

To get us started, I chatted with Kelsey Reese, the owner of a small business called ReeseCycled. In May of 2020, Kelsey started ReeseCycled as what she describes as “a happy accident” while cleaning out her closet during pandemic-induced boredom.

ReeseCycled upcycles vintage clothing into one-of-a-kind, modern pieces, such as this one:

You can see more of Kelsey’s transformations on her TikTok.

In the meantime, listen to our interview above.


Recommendations


Resources


That’s all for this week! See you next Tuesday.

~Sasha

2 Comments
The Upcyclist
The Upcyclist
Check out "The Upcyclist," a weekly newsletter about turning stuff... into other stuff.